Published on: 8 December 2023

Derbyshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust is calling on people in six areas of Derbyshire to represent their communities and stand to be a member of their Council of Governors.

The Trust’s Governors engage with members and the public as well as feed local views back to the Council of Governors. Governors are also collectively responsible for deciding the remuneration and allowances, and other terms of conditions of office, of the Trust Chair and other Non-Executive Directors.

The Trust is seeking nominations from people living in:

  • Bolsover and North East Derbyshire
  • Chesterfield
  • High Peaks and Derbyshire Dales
  • Erewash
  • Areas in the rest of England

We are particularly looking for people from Bolsover and North East Derbyshire and High Peak and Derbyshire Dales.

The deadline for nominations to be received is Monday 11 December 2023, with elections taking place in January 2024. Newly elected governors would commence in post and join the Council of Governors early in February 2024, for up to a three-year term of office.

Public Governor roles on the Council of Governors are voluntary positions. Anyone interested in standing as a member of the Council of Governors will need to be registered as a Trust member – this a simple process that can be undertaken on the Trust website. The Trust welcomes nominations that represent the diversity of our communities across Derbyshire.

‘Very rewarding’

Susan Ryan, a current public governor for Amber Valley, says: “I would strongly encourage people to stand in the elections – everyone has a different reason for wanting to be involved including having been employed by the NHS, using Trust services or caring for people who use our services. It is a great way of learning more about the Trust too.” 

Selina Ullah, Trust Chair, said: “I would like to encourage local people to stand in the public governor elections.

“It is important that members of our local communities are represented on the Council of Governors so that they can influence how services are provided and ensure the Trust is listening and responding to issues raised by them.

“Governors bring a wealth of expertise and insight which helps the Trust to be more responsive. Once the elections have taken place, and the results declared, I look forward to working with our newly elected governors.”

Learn more

If you are interested in standing a form can be obtained as follows:



Telephone: 0208 889 9203 

Text 2FT DH and your name and address to 88802

For more information about becoming a governor, please contact the membership and Involvement Manager by calling 01332 623723 or emailing

Nominations will open on 10 November and close at 5pm on 11 December 2023.

Six constituencies

Amber Valley’s governor will represent the views of Trust members across the wards of: Alfreton, Belper Central, Belper East, Belper North, Belper South, Codnor and Waingrove, Crich, Duffield, Heage and Ambergate, Heanor and Loscoe, Heanor West, Ironville and Riddings, Kilburn, Langley Mill and Aldercar, Ripley and Marehay, Shipley Park, Somercotes, South West Parishes, Swanwick, Wingfield.

Bolsover and North East Derbyshire’s governor will represent the views of Trust members across the wards of: Bolsover District Council North East Derbyshire District Council.

Chesterfield’s governor will represent the views of Trust members across the wards of: Barrow Hill and New Wittington, Brimington North, Brimington South, Brockwell, Dunston, Hasland, Hollingwood and Inkersall, Holmesbrook, Linacre, Loundsley Green, Lowgates and Woodthorpe, Middlescroft and Poolsbrook, Moor, Old Whittington, Rother, St Helens, St Leonards, Walton West.

Erewash’s governor will represent the views of Trust members across the wards of: Abbotsford, Breaston, Cotmanhay, Derby Road East, Derby Road West, Draycott, Hallam Fields, Ilkeston Central, Ilkeston North, Kirk Hallam, Little Eaton and Breadsall, Little Hallam, Long Eaton Central, Nottingham Road, Ockbrook and Borrowash, Old Park, Stanley, Sandiacre North, Sandiacre South, Sawley, West Hallam and Dale Abbey, Wilsthorpe.

High Peak and Derbyshire Dales governor will represent the views of Trust members across the wards of: Derbyshire Dales District Council, High Peak Borough Council.

Rest of England’s governor will represent the views of Trust members from the area outside of Derbyshire.

Why does Derbyshire Healthcare have governors?

After gaining Foundation Trust status in 2011, we made a commitment to represent our communities as effectively as possible and promote public awareness of health issues.

Having Trust members – represented by elected governors – is a key way for Derbyshire Healthcare to involve local people in the organisation’s work and ensure that it provides the best possible care and treatment for the people it serves.

The organisation’s Council of Governors is made up of 16 members of the public, six staff representatives and six representatives from partner organisations. Governors are elected by the Foundation Trust’s members and oversee the Trust’s Board, who are responsible for running the NHS services that the Trust is commissioned to provide to the residents of Derby and Derbyshire.